Pragmatism

Photo by Brett Walker

The majority of her life passed in a dreamlike trance. Everyone around her noticed her lack of solidity, something intangible about her like a silver stream running through your fingers. Evasive as a cloud, always changing forms. She alternated between floating from one situation to the next, gingerly touching the surface every once in a while or laboriously dredging the black bottom of the murky pond of life. Ruled by the moon and the tides, her moods fluctuated madly, rising to impressive heights and then crashing back down into the lowest, darkest holes of existence. As a result of this perpetual lack of consistency, no one really took her very seriously.

She could not resist analyzing every situation that concerned herself in any way and even most other situations that had nothing to do with her. Luckily, she was blessed with a strong streak of pragmatism, well-disguised under her heavy robe of incongruity. The lapse of time necessary for her to finally take action, to put her pragmatic nature to use, varied immensely.

Sometimes years, decades silently slipped away. The voices, urging her to move forward, yelling at the tops of their frail lungs, could be heard by her alone. She was a bit like a duck, gliding effortlessly on the surface, paddling like hell only inches under the water.

Yet sometimes, in the blink of an eye, she took the most direct path towards what she wanted, hungry crab on a sandy beach, protected by her hard shell, all her softness and vulnerability cleverly dissimulated on the inside.

10 comments

  1. Theo Black

    That’s beautiful. And I feel like I understand some people more clearly now. Very nice.

    • pivoine68

      Thank you My ThΓ©o! I am happy if I inadvertently cleared something up. Ha! I understand nothing. I like the process of trying to figure out why. πŸ™‚

      Bisous,
      Dawn

  2. Dawn D

    Beautiful Dawn. I wish I could so eloquently put into words my thoughts and their processes…
    Bises
    Dawn

      • Dawn D

        Well, I may try to put my thoughts in writing, but it’s nothing as poetic as what you write πŸ™‚
        So, you’re welcome, but you know I mean it πŸ™‚
        Bises

      • pivoine68

        I just wish you would write here at WP!!! πŸ™‚
        I’m beginning to think we will never get our computer repaired….which is just as well for me except that I can never comment your blog!

        Big Blogging Bisous,
        Dawn

      • Dawn D

        Who knows, maybe one day… For now, I’m happy to have the protection of the “adult content” warning at the opening of my blog and know that it cannot be shut just because someone took offense at something I wrote too explicitly… but some aspects of the server annoy me, so… time will tell πŸ™‚
        I’m sorry you can’t comment, but I’m always happy to read whatever comment you send me by email πŸ™‚
        It almost makes up for it πŸ™‚
        Bises

      • pivoine68

        Almost. Sorry. 😦
        I have a sort of adult content warning here too….even though my content is never very mature. Lol!

Leave a Reply

